This site will not work properly without cookies

Please ensure they are enabled, and click on Home

Login Jump Or Search 

Olympic Torch in Kent

Games Maker Glory for a Kent Scouter!

021 Joe Phillips, ASL with the 8th Gillingham Scout Troop is having a great time as an Olympic Games Maker.  Joe is part of the ceremonies team and had the honour of bearing the first Gold medals awarded to Team GB at the Rowing.  Helen Glover and Heather Stanning celebrated being the first Gold medallists for GB and Joe was there!



We've got other Games Makers too in Kent Scouts - Chris Sarnowski from Maidstone and a county Trustee is assisting with transport for Olympic officials helping to co-ordinate their movements in a fleet of brand new BMWs.  Is anyone else out there doing their bit - let us know!


A fantastic morning in Mote Park on day 63 of the Torch relay.  Hundreds of people gathered to cheer on Chris Bury, Explorer Scout from Wanderers ESU, Maidstone West as he received the flame from the lantern.  Chris was number 1 runner today and lots of Scouters, Scouts and his jamboree friends joined the crowds to cheer him on his way.

Jess Gould, a Leader from Hawkhurst carried the torch through Rye on Day 62 of the torch relay.  James Neate, a leader from Wateringbury Group carried the torch on day 62 through Westgate on Sea and Nirav Patel a young leader with the 1st St Lawrence Scout Group carried the torch on day 62 too through Hamstreet.  Nirav was nominated by Jacky Rampall in recognition of his contribution of helping others and raising money for various charities.

Helen Povey, a member of the Scout county team was our final runner on day 63 carrying the torch in Sevenoaks.

Heather Hale carried the torch and says it was an awesome day!  She was extremely proud to be a Scout and did a  hi-5 to everyone along the route in a necker.  Heather got to meet Dame Kelly Holmes and Steve Backley and did a super interview on BBC Southeast Today.

Congratulations to all the Kent Scout torch bearers:  Jess Gould, Evie Howells, Chris Bury, James Neate, Heather Hale, Helen Povey, Nirav Patel and Penny Smith.


Last updated by Rebecca